Tea Party of Independence County also adopted this resolution on July 2, 2013

 

PRESS RELEASE:

 

For Immediate Release July 2, 2013

 

Contact:  Brad Tangen, Northeast Arkansas Tea Party btangen3560@att.net 715-254-1660

Nancy Miller, Southeast Arkansas Tea Party nlmnlm@wildblue.net

John Holmes, Boone County Tea Party boonecounty.teaparty@gmail.com 870-204-2157.

Christine Keller, Washington County Tea Party washingtoncountyteaparty.ar@gmail.com 888-311-4348.

 

Subject:  Tea Parties Support Arkansas Against Big Government's (AABG) Referendum to Reverse the Arkansas Private Option Medicaid Expansion Law (Obamacare) HB1143, now Act 1498  

 

Glenn Gallas, Sponsor of Arkansas Against Big Government's referendum to reverse Act 1498, has the overwhelming support of the Tea Parties across the state.  Four Tea Parties in particular have voted to pass the following Resolution Supporting the Reversal of the Arkansas "Private Option." Other Tea Parties and County Republican Committees have also expressed interest in passing this Resolution.

 

Resolution Supporting the Reversal of the Arkansas 'Private Option'

 

WHEREAS, the Arkansas Legislature in its 2013 session enacted laws to implement the "Private Option" Medicaid Expansion plan; and,

 

WHEREAS, the US Supreme Court in its ruling on Obama's health law gave the states the option of declining Medicaid Expansion; and,

 

WHEREAS, no other state in the South but Arkansas has chosen to expand Medicaid and only sixteen states (mostly blue states) in the nation have moved in that direction; and,

 

WHEREAS, the Arkansas Private Option plan will expand coverage to approximately 250,000 new enrollees; and,

 

WHEREAS, the Arkansas Private Option plan will use federal dollars, our tax money, to fund insurance for these 250,000 new enrollees in early years and state and federal money in later years, it is another form of redistribution of wealth; and, 

 

WHEREAS, the costs for this expansion will fall back on Arkansas taxpayers after three years, and Arkansas taxpayers simply cannot afford it; and,

 

WHEREAS, the Arkansas Private Option is just another form of  Medicaid Expansion as prescribed in Obamacare and has been hailed as so by local, state, and national media; and,

 

WHEREAS, the  Congressional Budget Office estimated that private plans may cost 50 percent more than the Obama Medicaid expansion because private insurers traditionally pay health care providers much more than Medicaid does; and,  

 

WHEREAS, the Arkansas Private Option Medicaid Expansion is a massive expansion of a government entitlement program; and,

 

WHEREAS, the federal government, liberal bureaucrats, and the courts will decide whether the trigger points in the bill that sets conditions are valid; and,

 

WHEREAS,  Democrat Governor Beebe made this private option his main priority, every Democrat voted for every law pertaining to the Private Option and ultra-liberal journalist promoted the bills indicate the bill is a Democrat socialist bill; and,

 

WHEREAS, threats and intimidation were used to coerce Republicans to vote for the bill; and,

 

WHEREAS, the Private Option was held and pushed through with great pressure at the very end of the session; and,

 

WHEREAS, conservatives and Republicans have expressed again and again their opposition to bigger government; and,

 

WHEREAS, conservatives gave their blood, sweat, and money to help get Republicans elected to help defeat Obamacare; and,  

 

WHEREAS, conservatives pleaded with their representatives in the legislature by phone, messages, and emails to reject this Medicaid Expansion; and,

 

WHEREAS, conservatives are saddened, disillusioned, and embarrassed that this massive expansion of big government occurred in the first legislative session that Republicans have been in control; and  

 

Now, therefore, be it

 

RESOLVED, that the Northeast Arkansas Tea Party plans to join and support the effort by Arkansans Against Big Government (AABG)  to reverse through a referendum the laws that implement the Private Option through; and,  

 

RESOLVED, that we owe a tremendous gratitude to those Republicans who stood with us to the end and resisted the coercion by voting against the bills to implement the Private Option Medicaid Expansion; and therefore be it further

 

RESOLVED, that this Resolution will be sent to all Republican Legislators by the Northeast Arkansas Tea Party; and therefore be it further

 

RESOLVED, we will stand with the following legislators who stood for us by supporting them and their campaigns in the next race:  

 

Senators:

(R) Senator Cecile Bledsoe, Dist.3, 709 Sky Mountain Dr., Rogers, 72757 Phone 479-636-2115 Email Cecile.Bledsoe@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Alan Clark, Dist. 13, P. O. Box 211, Lonsdale, 72087 Phone 501-262-3360 Email

alan.clark@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Jane English, Dist. 34, 2401 Lakeview Road, L-2, North Little Rock, 72116

Phone 501-257-7670 Email jane.english@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Jim Hendren, Dist. 2, 1607 Highway 72, S.E., Gravette, 72736 Phone 479-787-6222 Email jim.hendren@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Bart Hester, Dist. 1, 2024 Shores Avenue, Cave Springs, 72718 Phone 479-531-4176 Email bart.hester@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Bryan King, Dist.5, 871 CR 814, Green Forest, 72638 Phone 870-438-4565 Email bryan.king@senate.ar.gov

(R) Senator Gary Stubblefield, Dist. 29, 2542 Skeets Road, Branch, 72928 Phone 479-635-4314 Emai gary.stubblefield@senate.ar.gov

 

Representatives

(R) Representative Randy Alexander, Dist. 88, P. O. Box 9901, Fayetteville, 72703, Phone 479-306-4051 Email randy.alexander@arkansashouse.org

(R) Representative Bob Ballinger, Dist. 97, 1757 Madison 7150, Hindsville, 72738 Phone 870-423-1035 Email bob@bobballinger.com

(R) Rep. Jonathan Barnett, Dist.87, 1980 Highway 412 West, Siloam Springs, AR 72761-3805 Business 479-524-6254 Residence 479-524-9440 FAX 479-524-3222: jonathan.barnett@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Nate Bell, Dist.20, P. O. Box 2103, Mena, AR 71953-2020 Residence 479-394-5665 nate.bell@arkansashouse.org

(R) Representative Bruce Cozart, Dist. 24, 420 Rock Creek Road, Hot Springs, 71913 Phone 501-627-3232 Email bruce.cozart@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Dist.79, 1424 North 9th Street, Van Buren, AR 72956-2649 Business 479-719-8197 Residence: 479-474-5895 gary.deffenbaugh@arkansashouse.org

 R) Representative Jim Dotson, Dist.93, P. O. Box 651, Bentonville, 72712 Phone 479-644-0740 Email jim.dotson@arkansashouse.org

(R) Representative Charlotte Vining Douglas, Dist.75, 5315 Ridge Road, Alma, 72921 Phone 479-632-2187 Email douglasforarkansas@yahoo.com

(R) Representative Joe Farrer, Dist. 44, 199 Lewisburg Road, Austin, 72007 Phone 501-743-6855 Email jfarrer@suddenlink.net

(R) Representative Charlene Fite, Dist.80, 531 Pine Cliff Drive, Van Buren, 72956 Phone 479-414-1818 Email charlenefiteforstaterep@yahoo.com

(R) Representative Bill Gossage, Dist. 82, P. O. Box 221, Ozark, 72949 Phone 479-667-2122 Email bill@billgossage.com

(R) Rep. Kim Hammer, Dist.28, 1411 Edgehill, Benton, AR 72015-3128 Business 501-840-3841 kimdhammer@yahoo.com

(R) Rep. Justin T. Harris, Dist.81, P. O. Box 880, West Fork, AR 72774-0880 Residence: 479-871-8542 justin.harris@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Debra M. Hobbs, Dist.94, 3901 Arnold Avenue, Rogers, AR 72758-1640 Residence:479-636-3982 debra.hobbs@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Karen S. Hopper, Dist.100, P. O. Box 864, Mountain Home, AR 72654-0864 Residence 870-431-8934 karen.hopper@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Lane Jean, Dist. 2, 1105 Lawton Circle, Magnolia, AR 71753-2548 Business/Residence: 870-234-5433 l_jean@sbcglobal.net

(R)Rep. David Meeks, Dist.70, 2625 Donaghey Avenue, Suite 108, PMB 301, Conway, AR 72032-2325 Residence 501-277-9340 david.meeks@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Stephen Meeks, Dist.67, 552 Highway 225 E Greenbrier, AR 72058-9743 Legislative Office 501-205-3272 stephen.meeks@arkansashouse.org  Stephen Meeks Voted against it the 2nd time to his credit although he had voted for it the first time.

(R) Representative Josh Miller, Dist.66, 1008 Trailwood Drive, Heber Springs, 72543 Phone 501-250-7039 Email josh.miller@arkansashouse.org

(R) Representative John Payton, Dist.64, P. O. Box 181, Wilburn, 72179 Phone 501-362-5815 Email paytonforthepeople@yahoo.com

(R) Rep. Terry Rice, Dist.21, P. O. Box 2195, Waldron, AR 72958-2195 Business 479-637-3100 Residence 479-637-4420 FAX 479-637-2000 terry.rice@arkansashouse.org

(R) Rep. Bruce Westerman, Dist.22, P. O. Box 1399, Hot Springs, AR 71902-1399 Business 501-321-2276 Residence 501-625-7304 FAX 501-624-4214 bwforarkansas@hughes.net

(R) Representative Richard Womack, Dist.18 866 North 12th Street, Arkadelphia, 71923Phone 870-403-6287 Email richard@richardwomack.co

 

Northeast Arkansas Tea Party btangen3560@att.net

SoutheastArkansas Tea Party nlmnlm@wildblue.net

Boone County Tea Party boonecounty.teaparty@gmail.com

Washington County Tea Party washingtoncountyteaparty.ar@gmail.com

 

 

Posted by Women Action Group July 3, 2013

wpaagorg@gmail.com